Week 10: Seond High Day Recap

For this solitary Summer Solstice ritual, I based my work off of the Solitary Druid Fellowship work of Teo Bishop (no longer active) which can be found here. I strictured my ritual around the Core Order of Ritual, but made some changes to make it more applicable to the Proto-Indo-European deities I work with, and some personal aesthetic preferences.

I spent a good deal of time planning this ritual because I want to work on being able to write my own, from start to finish, within the layout of the COoR. I tried to make sure that every individual step felt right, and also that the overall flow made sense and had clear purpose and intent. I notice that sometimes I get caught up in the doing and am not completely present with the depth of meaning behind that doing. I tried to make the wording, prayers, and actions be more evocative so that I would stay mindful and present throughout the rite. I felt very successful in that, and got some ideas on how to further refine my flow for the next High Day.

The Deities of Occasion for this Summer Solstice ritual were all of the Solar Deities that make up the group I usually work with: Xausos (who acted as Gatekeeper), Diwos Sunu, Sawelyosyo Dhugeter, and Dyeus Pter. Along with honoring Them, I also had a secondary purpose in this ritual to open myself up more to the Xartus and ask for guidance in aligning and understanding more as I grow in my Druidry.

As you can see from the image below, I planned out my offerings pretty meticulously so that they were all within reach and in order of use. I found this to be super helpful, and it allowed me to focus more on the offering itself and less on checking and double-checking that I had it all right.

IMG_6089

I am definitely going to keep doing my offerings this way when there are many to be made- it just made things so simple!

IMG_6094.JPG

I moved my shrine to my living room so that I could have more light and more space- it usually resides in my bedroom which is not well-lit and doesn’t have much room to spare. I have recently started working with a living tree as my World Tree, and the experience has been really amazing! I turned the original ‘stick’ I had into a drumstick for my ritual drum.

IMG_6093

I felt like the ritual went very well. While Dyeus Pter was the focus of my offerings and praise, it was Diwos Sunu who really came through. I have been close to Them for some time, but recently that closeness has escalated into a nearly constant state of companionship. Signs that I am choosing to read into with fervor have been happening all around me- from unexpected sightings of horse-related imagery to dreams, conversations, and moments of synchronicity. Since this ritual took place on June 21, 2016, my relationship with them has deepened significantly. I had planned a small tattoo of Them on my right thigh as a way to keep awareness of them with me as I try and walk (read: gallop!) in ghosti with the Kindred, but that tattoo session ended up coming early and the placement changed significantly in a last-minute sort of way.

IMG_6180

I looked forward to the drawing of the omen for this ritual because previously I have only drawn to ask for guidance and areas of focus for my own development. This time I decided to also draw to reflect how the ritual and offerings were received. I admittedly found this daunting because I has fear about not being accepted. I worked through that and drew two omens; one for how the ritual and offerings were received, and one for what I could work on in my personal development between now and the next High Day. I used the Druid Animal Oracle by Phillip and Stephanie Carr-Gomm, but hope to move to Ogham soon.

IMG_6096.JPG

Blackbird – Omen of Ritual & Offering

I interpreted this card as a positive sign that my ritual was good and that my offerings had been accepted. In the book that accompanies these cards, Blackbird is described as an omen of spirituality, mystery, mysticism, and ‘otherness’. They can be seen as a messenger from the otherworlds, and as an ally in traveling or experiencing these realms.

I have some concern, as mentioned above, about my offerings being received and making it through the gate, so to speak. This omen, for me, was reassuring that my work does in fact go through to the other worlds and that I need to trust the process, even when I may not be able to perceive it happening so strongly.

IMG_6095

Horse – Omen of Personal Focus

This card was drawn in reverse which at first alarmed me. Once I read the meaning, however, I felt quite blessed. I probably don’t have to point out that this is just another instance of Horse showing up, and after the experience I had just had with Diwos Sunu, it came as a clear, positive, and powerful message of ghosti.

In the book, Horse is considered to be an omen of rhythm, connection to Goddesses, and the land. Reversed it shows that the individual may be out-of-step with the natural process of life, and that they need to work to trust and get into rhythm with how things go. This is very relevant for me and what I’ve been working on. Horse helps us get our own cadence into alignment with the natural process of life, of Earth, and of self so that we can shake off fear, scattered energy, and lack of follow-through.

I am really happy about how this ritual went, what kinds of doors it opened up for me, and how it has nourished a budding relationship with Diwos Sunu in such a powerful, tangible, and undeniable way. I am looking forward to the next High Day, and am working on ways to honor Diwos Sunu more in my daily life as well.


References

Druid Network- Solitary Druid Fellowshop Archive. Web. Accessed June 2016. https://druidnetwork.org/what-is-druidry/rites-and-rituals/solitary-druid-fellowship/
Carr-Gomma, Phillip and Stephanie. The Druid Animal Oracle. Touchstone. 1995. Print.
Dangler, Rev. Michael J. Through The Wheel Of The Year. ADF Publishing. 2016. PDF.
Various. Our Own Druidry. ADF Publishing. 2009. Print.
Ar nDraiocht Fein. Web. Accessed April 2016. https://www.adf.org/
Ceisiwr Serith / Proto-Indo-European Deities. Web. Accessed April 2016. http://www.ceisiwrserith.com/pier/deities.htm
Proto-Indo-European Religion. Web. Accessed June 2016. http://piereligion.org/pieritual.html

Leave a Reply

