Week 04: First High Day Recap – Beltane

My Beltane celebration honored Dyeus Pter, the Shining Sky Father. Paxuson acted as gatekeeper.

I chose to use the basic ritual structure written originally by Teo Bishop for Solidary Druid Fellowship, but made a few changes. I didn’t do any magical workings, and did a lot of re-writing of the prayers and invocations to suit my own personality and connection the Kindred.

I ran this ritual solitary at sun’s zenith on May 1, 2016, and put a lot of pre-planning into it which really paid off. I had all of my offerings set up in marked individual cups, and highlighted my ritual notes so that I could follow them without a lot of awkward silences. I made space for spontaneous prayer offerings which was really nice, and felt very good about how the entire ritual progressed.

IMG_5375

I felt really good about this ritual. I have often been attracted to Dyeus Pter, but have had a hard time connecting tangibly which is why I chose to honor him specifically here. I definitely felt connected, and was given a lot of inspiration and confidence about nurturing that connection. I even got inspired during ritual about how to best represent him on my shrine. I left the ritual feeling Dyeus Pter to be more approachable than I had previously felt, and also felt much closer to the deities I usually connect to – Pria, Paxuson, and Xausos. The generally feeling of the ritual was about grounding out my relationship with the Shining Ones in a more practical and everyday way. I got lots of inspiration about shrine work, representing the deities, and a feeling of ‘permission’ about approaching them with more confidence and camaraderie. I also felt very connected to the spirits of nature, and have since really rekindled my love of relating to the trees and staying open to their wisdom – it’s easy for me to forget I have those allies sometimes, so this was a welcomed reminder.

IMG_5376

 

I used Phillip Carr-Gomm’s Druid Animal Oracle to draw an omen. Eventually I want to use Oghams, but this is what I had to work with this time around. I drew two cards – one was for what the Kindred suggest I focus on in my spiritual development until the next High Day, the second was a blessing to help me attain that development. I drew Dog for the goal, and Blackbird for the support. I interpreted this as simply to work on my loyalty, friendship, and trust to the Kindred every day in every way – to really dig in and become close to them in a practical, reliable, and dependable way. The Blackbird suggested that I not hesitate to use meditation, visualization, prayer, magic, and ritual work to help foster these deeper levels of love and connection to the Kindred.

Hail the Beltane Fire!


References

Dangler, Rev. Michael J. Through The Wheel Of The Year. ADF Publishing. 2016. PDF.
Various. Our Own Druidry. ADF Publishing. 2009. Print.
Ar nDraiocht Fein. Web. Accessed April 2016. https://www.adf.org/
Druid Network – Solitary Druid Archives. Web. Accessed April 2016. https://druidnetwork.org/what-is-druidry/rites-and-rituals/solitary-druid-fellowship/
Proto-Indo-European Religion – Festivals. Web. Accessed May 2016. http://piereligion.org/festivals.html
Wikipedia – Beltane. Web. Accessed May 2016. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Beltane
Phillip Carr-Gomm. The Druid Animal Oracle. Simon & Schuster. 1994. Print.

Leave a Reply

